Mr. Phillip Germain

CEO, Saskatchewan Workers Compensation Board, Canada

Phillip holds a B.Sc. Psychology from the University of Alberta and holds a professional designation from the Canadian Board of Registered Safety Professionals. He was awarded Saskatchewan Safety Professional of the Year in 2014 and the IAIABC International Collaboration Award in 2020. Phillip’s experience includes Manager of the Agricultural Manufacturers of Canada Safety Program, Saskatchewan WCB Executive Director of Prevention, and Saskatchewan WCB Vice-President of Prevention, Employer Services. In 2019 he was appointed as CEO of the Saskatchewan Workers’ Compensation Board.

He currently serves as the Vice-Chair of the International Association of Industrial Accidents Boards & Commissions (IAIABC) Disability & Prevention Committee, Board of Governor for the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety, Vice-President of ISSA Technical Commission on Employment Policies and Unemployment Insurance, and Board of Director for the Association of Workers Compensation Boards of Canada.


Youth Spotlight

Building on the SafeYouth@Work Congress held in Singapore in 2017, the Youth Spotlight is a lively, interactive session designed to spur global action to improve occupational safety and health (OSH) for young workers. This session will bring together youth champions around the world, policy makers and experts to reflect on how to engage youth into prevention and to integrate their voice and vision in building back better. It will also explore young workers’ expectations from institutional partners to continue supporting them in promoting OSH.

The Youth Spotlight is also closely connected with other program elements including the International Media Festival for Prevention, Braindates and keynote speeches where OSH for young workers will be highlighted, discussed and advanced.

Dr. Ulrike Bollmann, ENETOSH, Germany
Ms. Diana Katherine Cely Silva, Red Trabajo Decente, Jovenes, Colombia
Ms. Nur Chariroh, Youth Champion, Indonesia
Mrs. Stephanie Claus, Youth Champion, United States of America
Ms. Hajar Dee, Youth Champion, Singapore
Zuly Duran Salazar, Red Trabajo Decente, Jovenes, Colombia
Ms. Anna Fendley, United Steel Workers / AFL-CIO US, United States of America
Mr. Phillip Germain, Saskatchewan Workers‘ Compensation Board, Canada
Ms. Angela Maria Herrera, Youth Champion, Colombia
Ms. Sarah Jampen Almzan, Independent Journalist, Canada
Mr. Francis Mugume, Youth Champion, Rwanda
Ms. Olga Sofia Parrado Sanchez, Red Trabajo Decente, Jovenes, Colombia
Ms. Luisa Fernanda Riano, Red Trabajo Decente, Jovenes, Colombia
Ms. Mercy-Grace Seuya, Association of Tanzanina Employers, Tanzania
Ms. Ilona Sorri, Youth Champion, Finland

Live - 22/09/2021 - 12:30 EDT - 13:30 EDT
Rerun - 22/09/2021 - 22:30 EDT - 23:30 EDT